Austin Tech Guys are Pretty Hip


I couldn’t go to SXSW and not write about the difference between Austin Tech Guys (ATG) vs Silicon Valley Tech Guys (SVTG).  First of all I can’t believe that was my first time at SXSW. I took the Silicon Valley StartupBus so I was on a bus with mostly SVTG for three days. I’ve commented a lot on SVTF (Silicon Valley Tech Fashion) and even NY fashion, but I was unprepared for Austin Tech Fashion. ATF is super hip: faux hawks, fitted shirts, ties, vests and fancy cowboy boots for the most part. It’s a combination of dressy and hipster. You will not find them a wearing hoodies or conference shirts, that’s for sure.

The other remarkable difference is that they are super into their offices. Giving office tours is a common thing there. Also it isn’t strange for them to sleep in their offices; I’m not even exaggerating. They have a few outfits in their office just in case they end up crashing there. I encountered a number of Austin Tech Guys and this was common across the board.  In fact, one of my friends moved into his office while I was staying at his apartment lol. He also has an ongoing competition with Pete Cashmore on who is the better dresser.

Faux Hawks are Hawt

This entry was posted in Austin Tech Guys, SXSW and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment