Casual Shoes and Why They Shouldn’t Last Forever

All right, I completely understand that shoes are supposed to be comfortable. If you’ve seen me in my shoes you know I don’t prescribe to that at all. I like to be 3-5 inches taller than I really am. I’m not suggesting you do that. Anyway, I know a lot of you like your New Balances because they last for years…..but why would you want to wear the same shoes for years? First, there is unavoidable bacteria build up inside the shoe. Secondly you are walking around outside and picking up all types of nasty germs. Thirdly the soles wear down and that affects foot support. A way to make your shoes last longer is to not wear the same pair every day. Get 2-3 pairs and wear them in a rotation. I know what you are thinking-expensive. I’m here to tell you it’s worth it. Read the about section if you still aren’t convinced (oh and remember the whole bacteria build up-ew).

John Varvatos Converse Shoes

Back to the New Balances- I am not a fan. Unless you are running to work, I don’t see the appeal (besides the whole comfortable and erroneous belief of lasting forever but we already touched on that). Aesthetically they undermine your outfit. A less bulky shoe is sexy and I have some suggestions. There is something about Converse shoes that convey a sophisticated playfulness. I’m sure you’re familiar with the typical pair, but Converse also partners with other designers to create styles with an interesting twist. I’ve been really into the Nautical look lately so boat shoes are a go and slip-ons too.  Your shoes are a way to go a little crazy and express your personality. Have fun with them.

Timberland Earthkeeper 2.0 Boat Shoe

Vans
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Casual Shoes and Why They Shouldn’t Last Forever

  1. Also try Onitsuka Tiger’s Mexico 66, which are leather (wear better than mesh), very light and thin sole. Not much shock absorption but you’re not jogging to work, right?

    http://www.zappos.com/onitsuka-tiger-by-asics-mexico-66-birch-indian-ink-latte

Leave a comment