Question: Casual Look

The first question is from Kurtis. “So question #1, what is a good casual look (besides my woot shirts, no really, wearing one right now).”

I know I make fun of Woot shirts and people think they’re “funny,” but my biggest gripe is how they feel and fit. I actually really like the one right now.

My favorite material for T-shirts is actually bamboo. It is sustainable, organic and feels like a blend of cashmere and silk. Translation: good for the environment and really, really soft.

A brand that I like for men’s shirts is John Varvatos U.S.A. It is a little pricey (not as expensive as John Varvatos), but the cloth is soft and I like the way they fit. See below for a picture of a polo shirt that is pretty casual. It feels like a T-shirt, but looks a little nicer. It is still casual though.

Obviously, jeans are casual. A brand I really like is Nudie Jeans. They are organic which is super important because cotton contributes to 25% of all pesticide usage and requires a large amount of water to make into a garment. I’ll talk more about sustainable fabric in another post, but it is something to consider when buying clothing.

Another great option for pants – something that can be casual or you can dress it up – is plaid pants. I’m kind of a plaid lover. It might be from my long stint at Catholic School, but there are so many different varieties of plaid that it makes your outfit a lot more interesting.

Feel free to send me questions at gauxclothes@gmail.com.

Photos courtesy of Woot, John Varvatos, Urban Outfitters and NudIe Jeans

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment